Follow up reflection – Jesus and Peter

I spent Friday evening and all day yesterday in the first session of my weekend class which is on the ‘Meaning of the Sacraments.’ It is a fascinating topic and largely focused around baptism and the Lord’s supper (although exploring the other five sacraments of the Catholic Church as well).

I come to the class with particular views that I’ve come to over the years on topics such as infant baptism vs. adult baptism, open table vs only for those who have been baptised, only an ordained priest presiding at the table vs. the priesthood of all believers etc… It will be really interesting to see by the end of the semester how this class will shape and inform my perspective on some of these things and therefore my engagement with the Church.

However, one thing I was particularly struck by in the class was actually in relation to my blog last week on the film Silence. In the context of the Lord’s Supper, my professor was talking about the meal with Peter and the disciples following the resurrection in John 21.

Jesus has already appeared to the disciples once (John 20:19-23) and one interpretation is that Peter’s decision to go fishing was an act of defiance, returning to his former occupation and taking six disciples with him. Following Jesus’ appearance in the morning after an unsuccessful night of fishing, Jesus instructs them to throw their net on the right side of the boat and they will find fish. It is then that the beloved disciple (John) proclaims that “It is the Lord” who is on the beach and Peter jumps into the water desperate to see Jesus. On the beach, there is a fire of burning coals with some fish on it and bread. It is Jesus who has prepared a meal for Peter, he is the host. Following this meal, Jesus restores Peter. He gives Peter the opportunity to get it right again, asking three times, “Do you truly love me?” – a reversal of the three denials of Jesus before the crucifixion.

I think that one of the things that struck me about this story, is that Peter had committed one of the worst sins possible and yet was welcomed at the table, was restored by Jesus. He was one of the leading apostles of the Church, appointed by Jesus to “feed my sheep.”  It was in the breaking of the bread, that Jesus offered compassion and mercy, and not a meal of judgement. It made me reflect again on Father Rodrigues, and the story of Japanese Christians that apostatised. I think this story gives us an indication of Jesus’ response and welcome to them. I think for those in our faith communities that feel deep senses of guilt and shame, it is Peter’s story that suggests a way of restoration. As is a consistent thread throughout the Gospels, it is at the table that it happens.

Leave a comment